Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes are supported by the French Ministry for Culture and Communication, the Ministry for Youth and Sports, the European Commission, and the ministries and institutions of the partner countries.

In 2007, Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes were supported by the European Commission - Directorate General for Education and Culture, as one of the european-level active cultural organization.

call for applications

emerging video-cinema creation 2009

invitation to the FIPA
january 20th to 25th 2009 in Biarritz ? France
deadline: October 27th

presented by
Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes

Always attentive with the emergence of new talents, with the new expressions creating by the crossing of the worlds of cinema, of the video and the emerging creation, Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes propose a call for applications open to young artists who express themselves in this medium.

This fifth selection, presented within the framework of the 22nd edition of FIPA, in Biarritz, will be particularly careful to the young artists regard on the current world and the stakes of tomorrow.

Fictions, creative documents, animation, dance videos, video art and all forms of digital expression are invited to participate in this selection whose mission is to give a comprehensive overview of this trend, created by a young generation of artists participating in the rise of new expressions.

format and support

The selection will present films lasting 30 seconds to 12 minutes.
They must be sent in high definition format in DVD.


Two prizes can be awarded to video artists bringing a new approach and a significant contribution to this field of artistic expression.


The selected videos will be presented as part of a section of emerging creation in the FIPA in Biarritz between January 20th and 25th 2009.
This manifestation, dedicated to the work of authors and creators, brings together the main organizations of film directors, independent producers, as well as the international specialized press. Accordingly, the FIPA represents an exceptional opportunity to meet and discover for emerging creators (

This films selection will be projected also in festivals or biennales partners of the Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes, such as : BAM, Institute for visual, audiovisual and media art (Gent, Belgium) ; NOASS, International Video Art and Digital Film Festival (Riga, Latvia) ; Sequences festival (Reykjavik, Iceland)?, and within the framework of events organised by the Pépinières, such as the European forum for emerging creation.

Selected films will be projected in Beta SP, Beta digital or DV format (a copy in the format will be asked to the director laureate).

The film must be sent in DVD support with the enclosed registration form and the C.V. of the director to:

Patrice Bonnaffé
Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes
Jeune création vidéo cinéma
BP 13
9-11 rue Paul Leplat
78164 Marly le Roi cedex

registration form


contacts : +33 1 39 17 11 00/

Applicants who wish to recover their video will have to send us :
- for France : one pre-paid envelop
- for the other countries : a universal postal coupon.


emerging video-cinema creation is set up in partnership with the FIPA of Biarritz

With the participation of the Ministère de la culture et de la communication and Ministère de la santé, de la jeunesse, des sports et de la vie associative.

results for applications

map  2008-2009

During the last seventeen years, the Pépinières Européennes pour jeunes artistes have fostering and supporting promotion and mobility of young artists amongst the European artistic scene.

Following the deliberations of the pre-selection commitees and of the international jury, here is the list of the selected artists and substitutes (waiting list) for the residencies offered in our map 2008-2009 programme. *

selected artist
substitute artist

Classement final
Berlin, Schlesische 27  
  Anthony Schrag
  Daisy Bolter
Londres, Camden Arts Centre  
  Nikolaus Gansterer
Graz, Pépinières Österreich  
  Stefan Eichhorn
  Amy Croft
  Johan Lund
Belgique, FL  
Kasterlee, Franz Masereel Zentrum  
  Maria Francisca Sanchez
  Elvire Soyez
Huntly, Scottish Sculpture Workshop  
  Mark Dulude
  Suzanne Husky
Huesca, City of Huesca  
  Yuki Higashino
  Erick Dorion
  Patric Engfeldt
  Magali Revest 
Huesca, Okuparte  
  Yoko Honaga 
  Lenka Morávková 
  Maria Gil 
  Carly Genevieve Bateup
  Ricardo Correia 
  Vicky Sabourin
Helsinki, Theater Academy   
  Riina Saastamoinen
  Melissa Raymond 
Jyvälskylä Printmaking Centre  
  Fernando Garcia
  Jimena Kato Murakami 
Bastia, Centre Méditerranéen de la Photographie  
  Cecilia Järdemar
  Grace Gelder
  Odette England
  Palermo Maria Michela
Châlon, Musée Nicéphore Niépce  
  Muriel Prandato
  Olga Micinska
Nantes, David Rolland Chorégraphies  
  Karin Guttman
  Justyna Scheuring
Paris, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs  
  Nina Lassila
  Justin Coombes
Paris, La Villette  
  Ines Jacques
  Francesca Proia
Saint-Etienne, Ecole Régionale des Beaux Arts -Cité du Design  
  Thanos Zakopoulos Katia Mereghini
  Bruno Jahara
Toulouse, le BBB  
  Vincent Lafrance
  Irene Izquierdo Garcia
Tours, Le Plessis, Théâtres  
  Hugo Coelho
  Filio Louvari
Cork, National Sculpture Factory  
  Oliver Jacobi
  Katrin Hornek
  Alana Riley
  Adrien Tirtiaux
  Tomas Moravec
  Clement Laigle
Biella, Fondazione Pistoletto  
  Julia Staniszewska
  Rachel Horne
Milan, Studio Azzurro  
  Stéphanie Fortunato
  Pedro Lino
Milan, Domus Academy  
  Maria Azevedo Coutinho
Milan, Instituto Europeo di Design  
  Ana Gomez Hernandez
Padova, Fondazione March  
  Nine Budde
  Iwona Madjan
Liepaja, k@2 Centre  
  Barak Reiser
  Clementine Carsberg
  Shie Kasai
  Wendy Erikson
  Andrée Anne Vien
  Berta Tarrago
  Luke Dawson
  Maria Domenica Rapicavoli
  Martina Moor
  Frederico Costa
  Andréanne Fournier
Dudelange, Centre National de l'Audiovisuel  
  Paula Muhr 
  Leonora Bisagno 
  Eleonore Hérissé
  Philip Berendt
Luxembourg, 3C-L, Abbaye de Neumünster  
  Emilie Gallier 
  Aurélie Petrel 
Mersch, Pettener Schoul  
  Joana Biela Garrido 
Enschede, AKI  
  Benny Nementofsky Ramsay
  Erki De Vries
Den Bosch, EKWC  
  Etta Säfve
  Pier Stockholm
Alma, Langage Plus  
  Eva Mayer
  Guillaume Chamahian
Montréal, LADMMI  
  Sebastian Matthias Gehrke
  Zuzana Burianova
Montréal, PRIM  
  Rita Casdia
  Antonia Armelia Fritche
Saint-Jean Port-Joli, Est-Nord-Est  
  Jeanne Tzaut
  Emmanuelle Flandre
  Vincent Genco
  Sandra Aubry et Sébastien Bourg
Québec, Méduse  
  Pavla Scerankova
  Lise Lerichomme 
  Nathalie Kriwy, Kate McNaughton
  Amélie Dubois
République Tchèque  
Prague, CIANT  
  Paul Zografakis
  Schzeitwer Adelin
Zilina, Stanica  
  Magda Janczuk
  Tilman Porschütz
Göteborg, Konstepidemin  
  Francisco Javier Jimenez
  Christine Comeau
  Diane Morin
  Joris Martens

* In the event that certain residencies offered in this programme cannot take place for reasons outside of the control of Pépinières and whatever they may be, Pépinières bears no liability. However, those candidates that had been selected for those specific residencies may be offered another residency, under certain conditions.

List of residencies